Dramatic Last Gasp Try Secures Canada Sevens Victory in Japan

Shop for thousands of officially licensed MLS items at MLSStore.com

The third annual HSBC Kitakyushu Sevens final ended in thrilling fashion when Ghislaine Landry scored the decisive try within the final seconds of regulation time against England.

Ghislaine Landry's try ensured the Canadian Sevens overcame their English counterparts 7-5 in Sunday’s final. Meanwhile, it was an end to the Black Ferns unbeaten 38 game record as they fell to France during a Pool A fixture.

Canada Captain Ghislaine Landry

It was, however, a gripping battle between England and Canada that got mainstream attention as the try levelled the scores before a conversion ensured a famous win for the Canadian women.

It was almost a defensive masterclass by England, as they kept Canada away from their ten-meter line for much of the contest, but in the final seconds, it was the Canadian captain that pounced on a loose ball to make their one defensive mistake a fatal one.

The win was vital for the Canadians and keeps the 2016 Olympic bronze medallists in with a chance of automatic qualification for the 2020 games, which will take place in the same country as this fourth leg of the World Rugby Sevens Series. There are only four spaces available for the competition through the HSBC World Series, and Canada’s win means they have now leapfrogged the USA into second in the standings, with two rounds remaining.

New Zealand remains the side at the top of the standings, having won all three previous legs of the World Series. However, following their defeat to the French in the group stages, they were beaten again by the USA in the quarterfinals. They later regained their composure to finish fifth.

The next leg of the competition comes from Langford, Canada over the weekend commencing 11th May while the final round of the HSBC World Series comes from Biarritz, France in June.

Shop for thousands of officially licensed MLS items at MLSStore.com

Shop thousands of officially-licensed NFL items at NFLShop.com

Washington Capitals 2019 Metropolitan Division Champs